press release 





press center

AFTRA LA Announces Candidates for 2007 Elections

LOS ANGELES (April 5, 2007) -- AFTRA Los Angeles announced the complete list of candidates for its annual election of Los Angeles Officers and Board members, LA-based National Board members, and delegates to the AFTRA National 70th Anniversary Convention this summer.

Six incumbent AFTRA Los Angeles Officers were named candidates for reelection by the Los Angeles Nominating Committee and will run unopposed for additional two-year terms.  They include Los Angeles President Ron Morgan; First Vice President Susan Boyd Joyce; Second Vice President Lori Alan; Third Vice President Bobbie Bates; Fourth VP Jason George; and Treasurer Jay Gerber.  Actress Patrika Darbo was named as a candidate for Recording Secretary replacing singer Dan Navarro who chose not to seek reelection as an Officer.

A total of 20 AFTRA Los Angeles Board seats are up for election with candidates either having been selected by the Los Angeles Nominating Committee or qualifying for the ballot by nominating petition.  Actors named by the Nominating Committee to fill nine openings include incumbents Lori Alan, Audrey Baranishyn, Matthew Kimbrough, and Bill Ratner who will be joined on the ballot by Roxana Cortes, Milo Edwards, Morgan Fairchild, Robert Pine, and Joan Pirkle.  Running by petition are actors Steven Barr, Carole Elliott, and Russell McConnell.  Incumbent announcer John Harlan was named by the Nominating Committee as a candidate to fill one vacancy representing his category.  Dancer Sharon Ferguson, also an incumbent Board member, was named as a candidate for the one vacancy in that category.

Candidates to fill two singer vacancies on the Los Angeles Board are incumbents Jon Joyce and Dan Navarro, both also selected by the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee named incumbent broadcasters Furnell Chatman and David Horowitz as candidates in the newsperson category with one additional newsperson seat remaining to be filled. 

Incumbent Nick Brett was named by the Nominating Committee to represent the stuntperson category. There are three additional vacancies representing the sportscaster category to be filled as well.

In the election for the AFTRA National Board, 29 candidates are seeking to fill 13 Los Angeles openings, with one seat guaranteed for LA stuntpersons. The remaining 12 seats will be filled based on the plurality of votes received.  All National Board candidates qualified for the ballot by petition. Candidates include incumbents Ivy Bethune, Nick Brett, Raza Burgee, Andrew Caple-Shaw, Patrika Darbo, Sharon Ferguson, Jason George, Linda Harmon, Sumi Haru, Jon Joyce, Paul Napier, and Dan Navarro.  Also running are members Renee Aubry, Jane Austin, Jeff Austin, Audrey Baranishyn, Steven Barr, Bonnie Bartlett, Anthony DeSantis, Milo Edwards, Carole Elliott, Frances Fisher, Matthew Kimbrough, Russell McConnell, Peggy Miley, Ron Morgan, Bill Ratner, David Sobolov, and Yale Summers.

Officer and Board Candidates will have the opportunity to address the membership at the AFTRA Los Angeles annual "Meet the Candidates" forum on Tuesday, April 24.

Los Angeles members will also elect 191 delegates to represent their performing categories at the AFTRA National 70th Anniversary Convention scheduled for July 19 to 21 in Philadelphia.

Ballots will be mailed on May 2 with a voting deadline of May 22.  Elected Los Angeles Officers and Board members will begin their terms July 1.  National Board members begin their four-year terms at the conclusion of this summer's National Convention.