american scene awards®





press center

AFTRA American Scene Awards® to Honor
St. Louis Producers for Commitment to Diversity

St. Louis, MO, October 20, 2005 – The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA) will honor two St. Louis area producers with the 2005 American Scene Public Service Announcement (PSA) Award for their commitment to reflecting the diversity of the American scene in their PSA campaigns.  The Experiment agency will be honored for two radio PSAs, “Te Amo” and “Zoo,” which feature a diverse group of citizens coming together to teach city school kids through an innovative mentoring partnership.  KMOV-TV will be honored for its Diversity Awareness Partnership that selected twelve local high school students to write and produce PSAs promoting the diversity of cultures in their communities and encouraging viewers to “make a difference by accepting everyone else.”

The award presentations will take place at a special ceremony during the St. Louis Local’s Annual Membership Meeting on Monday, October 24.  Local President Mary Ann Carson and Recording Secretary Norman McGowan, coordinator of the Local’s competition, will present the awards.  AFTRA’s National Director for Equal Employment Opportunities, Ray Bradford, will also be present to describe the importance of this national awards program and will screen a selection of this year’s winning entries.

In recognition of producers who portray America’s diversity in a positive, balanced, and realistic manner, the following 2005 American Scene Awards® were presented at AFTRA’s 60th National Convention in Los Angeles this past summer: 

   ● Daytime drama legend and Emmy-Award winning creator of “The Young and the Restless” and “The Bold and The Beautiful,” William J. Bell was posthumously honored with the American Scene “Crystal” Award for his ground-breaking work in reflecting the diversity of the American scene in daytime television.

   ●  ABC Entertainment and Touchstone Television received the Television Entertainment Programming Award for creating a new form of diverse and innovative primetime programming: the Micro-Mini Series.

   ●  NBC Studios’ “Passions” won the Daytime Drama Award.

   ●  Los Angeles’ KCBS/KCAL won the Television News Station Award.

   ●  Pittsburgh’s WPXI-TV won the Documentary News Feature Award for “Young, Gifted, and Black: Pittsburgh’s African American Achievers.”

   ●  Prominent San Francisco broadcaster Belva Davis was honored for her professional and personal contributions to AFTRA and broadcast journalism. Ms. Davis was the first African American news broadcaster on the West Coast. Among her many awards are six Emmys and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Black Journalists. Henceforth, the Television News Station Award will be named for her.

Presented by the union’s Equal Employment Opportunities Committee (EEOC) since 1986, the American Scene Awards are made possible by a grant from the AFTRA Foundation.

The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists – affiliated with the AFL-CIO – is a diverse national union representing nearly 70,000 professional performers, broadcasters, and recording artists in 32 Locals throughout the country. AFTRA members work as actors, broadcast journalists, dancers, singers, announcers, hosts, comedians, and disc jockeys in all aspects of the media industries including television and radio, sound recordings, commercials, industrial non-broadcast, interactive games, and the Internet.  For more information, visit

back to the top